Hotel Crown Pointe Lodge Farmington
Of the ten crossings of the River Tyne the green steel arch of the Tyne Bridge remains the most iconic. Resembling the Sydney Harbour Bridge the building of this structure was started in 1925. It was completed and opened by King George V in 1928. The five storey high towers are hollow and built of granite. Initially intended as warehouses, lifts were installed to transport passengers from the roadway to the Quayside. These are now closed. The span across the Tyne is 531 foot in length and is 84 feet above the water. The bridge carries the A167 from Gateshead which merges into the central motorway on the Newcastle side.
From the Quayside on both sides of the river. There are car parks available on the Quayside.
Hadrian's Wall Path passes under the span as it follows the bank of the Tyne in this urban section of the walk.